Update: The Whatsapp “Delete for Everyone” feature is now available for everyone. Starting today, all the Whatsapp users can delete the messages they have sent by mistake.
Like most Whatsapp users you must have had sent an embarrassing and erroneous message that you wished you could delete before your friend would see it. Well, Whatsapp has decided to fulfil that wish of yours. The cross-platform instant messaging app that has a user base of more than a billion users has now introduced a new ‘Delete For everyone’ feature. The much-awaited feature is currently being rolled out to beta users. (हिंदी में पढ़ें)
Here are 5 important points about WhatsApp’s Delete For everyone that you Should keep in mind:
- This feature is only available to Whatsapp beta v2.17.399 and v2.17.400users. In order to work, both the sender and receiver should be using either of those two builds.
- A user can recall a sent message within 7 minutes. If the sender deletes a message within the stipulated time, “this message has been deleted” message instead of the original post will be shown at the receiver end.
- If you wish to delete a message, press and hold on the selected message tap on the delete icon. The app will then ask you to choose between ‘Delete for Everyone’, ‘Delete for Me’ and ‘Cancel’. Tap on the Delete for Everyone will to delete a message from both receiver’s and sender’s message box.
- Even if you are able to recall your last sent message, there is no guarantee that the person who received it hasn’t already read your message.
- If you are an iPhone user, the message will get automatically deleted from the notifications center as soon as the sender literally deletes from your inbox.
How can get Whatsapp recall message feature today?
Well, all Whatsapp beta users will be getting this feature within few days. Once Whatsapp decides to make it available for everyone you will be able to update your existing Whatsapp from Google Play store.
Meanwhile, you can download the relevant WhatsApp APK from here. Once again, the recall message feature will work only if your friend is using the latest WhatsApp Beta version.